Boots or flip-flops?

Standard

Spring feels like it is peeking around the corner. Despite our many years of experience, most of us seem to forget that the beginning of March does NOT mark the beginning of spring. Warm weather in March tempts us into putting away our toques and winter boots and taking out our skirts and flip-flops. Of course, as soon as all the winter garb is safely tucked away, a blizzard hits. I will not be sucked in this year.

We started pruning the apple trees today. We are hoping to get them finished in the next couple of weeks so they will have a better yield come harvest. (As I type this I’m laughing a little to myself, because I almost sound like I know what I’m doing. Do not be fooled. I have absolutely no idea how to be a farmer.)

After an hour of perusing a seed catalogue, I have highlighted all of the herbs, fruits and vegetables I would like to grow this summer. Now that I know what I want to grow, I just have to learn how to grow it all. I already have some recipes in mind, so I’m excited to get started. This brings me back to my qualms with March. I am falsely being led to believe that winter is over which is getting me excited for my vegetable garden. Let’s be reasonable though, it is March 9th… I have a good two months of waiting ahead of me… so in the meantime… I am going to work on recipes. I will post regular recipes as well as allergy friendly recipes (which are vegan and free of the most common allergens such as milk, wheat and corn).

RECIPE: Homemade Potato Wedges (allergy friendly)

4-5 medium potatoes (cut into wedges)
5 tbsp. sunflower oil
9 cloves garlic (finely minced) *if you have trouble digesting garlic, see note at the bottom

3 tbsp. tapioca starch (you can use any starch, including corn starch if you would like)
1/4 tsp. red chili pepper powder 1 tsp. coarse sea salt
1 tsp. freshly ground pepper

  • pre-heat oven to 350
  • cut potatoes into wedges
  • boil potato wedges for 2-3 minutes
  • coat potatoes with oil and garlic
  • in a small bowl combine starch, salt, and peppers
  • sprinkle starch mix over the potatoes and stir it all up
  • lay wedges in a single layer on cookie sheet
  • bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes, flipping halfway through

* for those who have trouble digesting garlic: my sister-in-law (a chef who can’t digest garlic) told me to  remove the green centre to make it easier on the stomach – cut the garlic in half, pull out the green bit, and use the rest of the clove

*click images to enlarge

Leave a Reply

