Tea Biscuits

Standard

My family ate these without realizing they were gluten-free and loved them. They make me really happy when I am craving something bread-like.

Mix wet ingredients together:
1/4 cup mashed potatoes (sweet or regular)
1/2 cup almond or soy milk (or real milk if you can have it)
1/4 cup oil (canola, olive or grapeseed work best)

Mix dry ingredients together:
1/2 cup amaranth flour
1/2 cup arrowroot starch (or tapioca starch)
1/4 cup coconut flour
4tsp. baking powder
1tsp salt

Add dry ingredients to wet and mix well. Spoon onto a greased cookie sheet (I use a soup spoon to get a decent sized biscuit). Bakefor about 15 minutes at 450 degrees (they are readyonce they start to brown on top ).

*most baking powder has corn starch in it, but I’ve found a gluten-free alternative at a local health store that does not (the one I buy has natural cream of tartar, baking soda, and tapioca starch)

One response »

  1. All these recipes are wonderful, have tried them and love them, just wish I could have more (without making them myself…Tara’s are always better)

Leave a Reply

